Error Msg When adding to dataBase

J

Jeff Messick

Hello Just wanted to say this is an awsome script, great job with it.

Im trying to insert data useing the form.php?form_type=insert&table_name=events when i hit insert i get an error that states Error during query execution.
Ive checked the tables and even reloaded the script many times any ideas on this?? thanks in advance

S

Stan

When I had this error I discovered that I had MySQL configured to reject duplicate entries on a couple of fields, in my case first_name, last_name. You don't have this problem do you? Turn debugging on in PHP to see the error details printed to the screen when you execute.

J

Jeff Messick

Sorry im kinda new at this php sql thing learning as i go, i check to see if i had duplicate entries to reject selected its not enabled.

i have 3 tables in mysql
2 were produced from the script and one is events which i created. What do the "functions" need to be in the events table. or does that matter?

agian I am sorry for my lack of knowledge on this

E

Eugenio

Jeff Messick wrote:
>
> Hello Just wanted to say this is an awsome script, great job
> with it.
>
> Im trying to insert data useing the
> form.php?form_type=insert&table_name=events when i hit insert
> i get an error that states Error during query execution.
> Ive checked the tables and even reloaded the script many
> times any ideas on this?? thanks in advance

Do you still have the problem?

Eugenio.

J

Jeff

Yes was my mess-up. Can't remember what I did. but it worked!

J

Jeff

This is a common problem if you don't have your Primary key set to an auto incrementing field. Here's an example:

Your primary key is set to the field "city". You first record has the city value of Denver, and everything works fine. You insert several more records and then try to insert one with the city field of Denver again. The primary key has to be unique, so you get an error because the value "Denver" was used twice.